The Bray and District Chamber of Commerce 2023 Endeavour Award Winners.

The Bray and District Chamber of Commerce 2023 Endeavour Awards, a hallmark event that has been celebrated since its inception in 1981, once again shone a spotlight on the best and brightest people and businesses of Bray and its surrounding areas. This wonderful ceremony is a testament to the wide range of individuals, groups, and enterprises that have made a positive impact within our local community.  

Among the various categories honoured at this year’s event were Bray Person of the Year 2023, Lifetime Achievement, Bray Volunteer of the Year, Civic and Community, Sports Award, Young Achiever, Local Business of the Year, Social Media Award, Customer Service Award, Special Recognition Award, and Employee of the Year. Phew! 

Held on Oct 26, at the Mermaid Arts Centre, the Awards played host to the celebrations, and there were many notable attendees including local TDs Stephen Donnelly, Simon Harris, Jennifer Whitmore, and John Brady, Cathaoirleach Melanie Corrigan, Bray Town dignitaries and local Councillors. And the management team at Industrial Packaging of course!  

Recognition for Industrial Packaging 


The Endeavour Awards aim to recognise those who have contributed positively to the region. This year, like many before it, there were thousands of nominations from the community. A two-month public awareness campaign then encouraged individuals to nominate their civic, cultural, community, and commercial champions. 

We’re really delighted that Industrial Packaging were the recipient of the Bray Business of the Year award. Established in 1947, Industrial Packaging has a legacy spanning three generations. Founded by Fred Lee in the heart of Dublin city centre, we have remained true to our name by manufacturing and distributing industrial containers and cardboard cores. These products are vital for a diverse range of industries, including pharmaceuticals, chemicals, food, textiles, and flexible films. 

In 1990, we took a significant step by relocating to Bray and establishing our first factory in the Killarney Road business park. In the year 2000, a second factory was added to the same site. Today, we’re very much ingrained in the community, employing over 60 dedicated individuals in Bray. And we love it here. 

Industrial Packaging takes great pride in giving back to the community that has nurtured our growth. Every year, we actively support local charities, initiatives, and sports teams, demonstrating a commitment to the well-being and development of the region we call home. The prestigious Bray Business of the Year award was accepted by our very own Rob Lee, Aisling Reynolds, and Ibrahim Darwish, representing the entire staff at Industrial Packaging.  

Rob Lee Aisling Ryenold Ibrahim Darwish The Bray and District Chamber of Commerce 2023 Endeavour Awards

This award is not just about business but also a reflection of our deep-rooted commitment to the community. As we are committed to giving back to the people of Bray many of whom have given so much of themselves to the business, we hope our efforts will inspire others to do the same.  

Industrial Packaging aims to embody the spirit of the Endeavour Awards by making a positive impact that extends well beyond our products. Bray is a wonderful town with a fantastic community, as demonstrated by the actions of our winners, who are so impressive. Here’s a round-up of the winners with an outline of why they were chosen.  


  • Person of the Year: Dessie O’Toole, a former bus driver, has raised over €1 million for local charities, including Living Life, St. Catherine’s Special School, The Wicklow Hospice, and more. He has dedicated over 30 years to fundraising and community involvement. 
  • Lifetime Achievement: Eleanor Murphy has volunteered with Bray Meals and Wheels and the Bray Old Folk Association for an impressive 47 years. 
  • Customer Choice Customer Service Person of the Year: Monika Bas, working at Dunnes, won the public vote among finalists including Christian Mulligan (PTSB), Derek Blount (Dockyard no8), Matthew Forde Connolly (NINE), Paul O’Toole (Harbour Bar), and Rosemary Flanagan (Home Instead). 
  • Customer Choice Hospitality Venue: Dockyard No. 8 was the public’s choice among finalists, which included Daata Bray, La Piazza, Nine, and Pink Salt. 
  • Customer Choice Business of the Year: Fleurtique emerged as the winner with the highest number of votes among finalists, including AB Print, Downey’s Pharmacy, Caremark, and Republic of Bike. 
  • Special Recognition in Business Awards: Liz Anne’s Coffee Shop and Finnegans Bray received recognition for celebrating over 50 years in business this year. 
  • Community: Bray Youth Services, founded in 1984, offers youth information, counseling services, and support to voluntary youth groups. They operate the Seomra Youth Centre, a dedicated safe space for young people, including LGBTQ+ youth, with drop-in sessions. 
  • Civic: Liam McGraynor has dedicated a quarter of a century to Bray Emmets, playing key roles at every level in the club and contributing greatly to its growth and success. 
  • Sports Achievement (Team): St. Peters FC Senior team achieved a remarkable quadruple (The Jim McLoughlin Shield, The Charlie Bishop Cup, The Wicklow Cup, and the League Championship), a feat never before accomplished by a Bray team. 
  • Sports Achievement (Individual): Aine O’Gorman’s outstanding football career includes 119 caps for Ireland and her historic participation in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup as the first active LOI player to represent Ireland in the World Cup. 
  • Special Recognition Sports Award: Richie Murphy led the U20s Irish Rugby team to consecutive 6 Nations Championships and a U20s Rugby World Cup Final appearance. The team excelled with 8 wins, 1 draw, and only 1 loss across the two tournaments. 



The Chamber’s president, Sarah Finnegan, acknowledged their outstanding achievements. “These awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate and acknowledge the best of Bray and District for both businesses and the community. We are absolutely delighted with the success of this year’s awards and in particular with the superb reaction that each of our winners received, especially our Person of the Year Dessie O’Toole and Lifetime Achievement recipient Eleanor Murphy”.  

Thanks to the Chamber for their work in organising this important event and we are of course thrilled to be in the winners enclosure!   


Endeavour Awards Bray 2023. Bray Endeavour Awards 2023 winners and special guests

Share this article